The St Rose’s High School which has been in existence for over 150 years was demolished last month to allow for construction of a new modern building which will incorporate many aspects of the original school building design.
Diocesan weekly, Catholic Standard reported that the complete demolition of the 19th century wooden structure on Church Street, Georgetown, was necessary as it had fallen into a state of disrepair.
Kenrick Thomas, chairman of the Board of Governors of the school said the design process for the replacement structure was conducted with the input of the Board and consultations with all relevant stakeholders, including the nuns of the convent who gave their no objection to the entire process.
“The new school will integrate in it the design of the Marian and other wings on the property including retention of the green space courtyard area, a unique feature of the school.”
The reconstruction project to be executed by Courtney Benn Contracting Limited is expected to last for approximately 24 months, according to INews Guyana.
The new building was designed by a Trinidadian firm with strong Guyanese roots in architectural design and consulting services.
Within four days of the first Ursuline Sisters’ arrival in then British Guiana in 1847, St Rose’s, a secondary school for girls began with three students. In 1869, a large three-storey school with a dormitory for boarders was constructed. Later in 1925, another three-storey building was built to accommodate over 500 young ladies enrolled in St Rose’s.
This structure abutted St Rose’s School and contained a fine auditorium with graded floor and stage. “It was the largest of its kind in Georgetown for many years,” the Catholic Standard reported.
The building also housed the St Agnes Primary School for many years, until 2014.
All children, regardless of religious persuasion, race or language were accepted at St Rose’s. The Ursuline Sisters continued to provide high-quality education until 1976 when St Rose’s and all other schools became state controlled.