Celebrating Catholic faith online
January 3, 2020
Championing the Good News in Santa Rosa
January 3, 2020

Development through clubs

It is no secret just how long it has been since Trinidad and Tobago’s cricket team won the regional first-class tournament of the West Indies Cricket Board. It was in 2006 under the captaincy of Daren Ganga.

Before that was in 1985 under Rangy Nanan. Previous to Nanan’s victory, the Prince Bartholomew side shared the trophy with Barbados in 1976, only because the Barbados team was denied points when they refused to play against Guyana in Guyana hence tying with T&T by ending level on points. The reason for this unfortunate cricket circumstance was the refusal of the Guyana government to allow entry to one of the Bajan cricketers, Geoffrey Greenidge, after arriving at the airport, because he had played cricket in apartheid South Africa.

There were back-to-back wins in 1970/71 under Joey Carew. Those were the fourth and fifth seasons of the league-style, first-class competition which was staged in that particular format for the first time in 1966. In 1968, there was no competition. Shell sponsored the tournament in its infancy and there have been quite a few sponsors since.

Subscribe or login below to view the rest of this story.

Subscribe to the Digital Archive | Log-In to Catholic News.